Possession of Marijuana is a controversial law in Texas. Marijuana has been legalized in many states, but not Texas. Organizations, like NORML, are trying to change that. However, any amount of usable marijuana up to two ounces is a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas. This means the maximum punishment is up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Punishments are higher for amounts over two ounces.
Other potential consequences may include mandatory Driver's License suspensions, random drug tests, completing a Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP), and/or community service. Some of these can be negotiated by a Fort Worth criminal lawyer. Contact the Lankford Law Firm to speak with a Fort Worth drug lawyer that has experience with Possession of Marijuana and other Controlled Substances in Fort Worth, Tarrant County, Texas.
If you have never been arrested before, we may be ale to get your case dismissed. Tarrant County offers a First Offender Drug Program (FODP) for persons with pending drug crimes and no criminal history. A person can get their case dismissed if they complete a 90 day diversion program. Conditions include no drug use for 90 days, complete a short drug education class, pay a program fee, and stay out of trouble. At the end of the 90-day period, your case is dismissed and you will later be able for an expunction to seal your record. Contact out office for more information and to see if you may qualify for the FODP program.